Academics and Scholarship,  Faculty,  Faculty NewsFeed,  The Latest Headlines

2022 Faculty Teaching Awards Announced

Professors Erin Bradley, Amy Patterson, Li Qi and Jennifer Hughes all honored for their work.

Agnes Scott College is pleased to announce its 2022 Faculty Award winners. These individuals were formally announced during Commencement on May 15, 2022. 

Erin Bradley, Linda Lentz Hubert Assistant Professor of Public Health, was named this year’s Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award honoree.

The award recognizes an outstanding faculty member who demonstrates strong academic skills in the classroom and provides leadership and support in other areas of campus life. Recipients are faculty who assist their institutions in nurturing a scholarly climate that fosters teaching; and provide leadership to enhance the campus community. Winners are nominated by their peers and students. 

As a behavioral scientist, Bradley’s teaching and public health research examine social determinants of health and equity. Much of her work focuses on women and African Americans, primarily in regards to HIV/STI prevention and care.

Described by students as an exceptional teacher, Bradley blurs the boundaries between teaching, service and scholarship, including students in all her research projects, incorporating service to a local non-profit into the Public Health capstone course and providing COVID-19 education to members of her church.

“Dr. Bradley is one of the most dedicated professors I have come across during my time at Agnes Scott,” said a nominating student. “She truly goes above and beyond in providing the best instructional support possible and made me further value learning public health material. She continuously supports students through their external academic endeavors and provides excellent mentorship.”

Public Health Professor, Amy E. Patterson was named the Sandra T. Bowden Faculty Service Award Recipient. 

This honor was established to recognize a tenure track faculty member whose service (any combination of service to students, the department, the college, or the profession)—like that of its namesake—is exemplary, sustained and transformative; who works collaboratively and collegially with others; and whose service has contributed substantially to the betterment of the institution. 

The award honors Professor Emerita of Biology Sandra T. Bowden who taught at Agnes Scott from 1968 to 2006.

Patterson, associate professor of public health, is a global health practitioner with experience in the development, implementation and evaluation of community and health-facility-based infectious disease and child health programs in Africa and with a particular focus on multi-level determinants of health behaviors.

Her service and contributions to the college are many, serving as chair of the department of public health, faculty SUMMIT Coordinator for Professional Success and Advising and as the chair of the college’s yearly Spring Annual Research Conference (SpARC). 

“Amy Patterson is one of the most generous members of our community, giving incredible amounts of time to students in Public Health as an instructor, advisor, and mentor—one of the most robust and burgeoning majors on campus—as well as to students across the college through her unflagging work as the SUMMIT Coordinator,” said one of her peers. “Her creative course design works to provide public health students with a complex, innovative, and grounded education in the field, and her devotion to working in the service of our general education program, SUMMIT, is inspiring and thoughtful.”

Li Qi, professor of economics, was bestowed with the Joseph R. Gladden Jr. Public Lecture Award during the ceremony. The award is given by the college’s president, president of the faculty and the dean of the college annually.

A fabulous teacher, as echoed by many students, Qi will deliver the annual Gladden Lecture during the 2022-2023 academic year on a topic related to her scholarly work. 

Professor Qi’s interests cover a wide range of content, including financial innovations, reforms and links to development in China and other transitional economies; behavioral and experimental economics and finance; and emerging capital markets and their implication to financial theories.

Qi is past president of the Chinese Economists Society and chair of the Chinese Economists Society Regents. The Chinese Economists Society was created in 1985 by a group of Chinese graduate students who were studying economics and business administration in the United States.

“Li is always well prepared for and attuned to the needs and problems that our students face,” said Rosemary Cunningham, Hal and Julia T. Smith Chair of Free Enterprise.

Jennifer Hughes ended the academic year the same way she started it, with an honor for her teaching excellence to the college. After serving as the class lecturer for last fall’s Senior Investiture, Hughes was named the Charles A. Dana Professor of Psychology and Chair

Jennifer Hughes

The named professorships honor American journalist, author and philanthropist Charles Dana, whose name is also bared on Agnes Scott’s fine arts building. 

Hughes has been an esteemed member of the faculty since joining the community in 1998 and is consistently recognized as a mentor by many Scotties.

“I can’t think of a single educator in my life more dedicated to her work than Jenny Hughes,” said Paige Sullivan ‘13. “She has impacted the lives of literally hundreds of students and alums, stays in touch with an ever-growing network of Scotties long after they graduate, and balances incredible calm and kindness with rigor and precision.”


About Agnes Scott College 

Agnes Scott College educates women to think deeply, live honorably and engage the intellectual and social challenges of their times. Ranked No. 1 Most Innovative School, No. 1 First-Year Experiences and No. 2 Best Undergraduate Teaching by U.S. News & World Report in its 2022 Best Colleges edition, Agnes Scott is a premier institution known for SUMMIT, its signature approach to a liberal arts education focusing on global learning and leadership development. Learn more at